Book Tropes I Don’t Understand

I thought this would be a fun post to write!

To clarify, no, I don’t live in the US. But I’ve always wondered if teenage life in America is how it’s described in books, or…

The Best Friend (s)


Ah, the classic. It’s a staple in YA for the narrator to have at least one best friend. Preferably someone prettier and more popular. I can’t tell you how many books I’ve read where the BFF is fun and crazy and exciting while the MC is a ‘loner’ and ‘outcast’. Is it that difficult to make friends in America? Because I’d been part of a huge friend group since middle school, and sure, I was closer to some, but it wasn’t like I didn’t socialize with others. In most books, the MC either looked down on everyone else or just ignored them.
Also, let’s not forget the whole opposite friends thing. You know, when there are two BFFs who are polar opposites (usually a calm, grounded and studious type and a fashion and boy-obsessed type) and always argue and need the narrator to be the mediator.

The Popular Group


Okay, so one thing I’ve never understood is how some kids are popular just because they’re rich and good looking. If they aren’t nice people, why would they be liked by fellow students? Doesn’t that go against the very definition of ‘popular’? I’d prefer the term infamous. And it’s pretty unrealistic. Why would they go to public school if they can afford to attend private school? My high school had groups too, but nothing like cliques and popular kids, which makes me wonder if this is something that’s commonly seen in actual American schools.

The Cafeteria Food


Apparently according to YA, schools are incapable of providing edible food. Now, I actually attended school in the US till third grade, and let me tell you, lunch was awesome. Most of the time I’d bring food from home, but I always looked forward to eating from the cafeteria. Which makes me wonder, was it only my school that served, well, edible dishes or is this exaggerated to add some laughs to the book?
And then there’s the whole seating arrangement thing. This is especially annoying when the MC is a new student and is looking for a place to sit, and the author takes this time to describe the various cliques. In my opinion, this is just discriminatory and unnecessary.

Girl on Girl Hate


The major reason why I dnf a lot of books, mostly YA contemporary. (how do they even get published?) This is seen usually when either the MC is a new student and the mean girl is jealous or whatever, or if the MC gets the guy who all the girls want.
I also really, really hate it when the main character is judgmental and has a ‘holier than thou’ attitude. Especially slut-shaming. That’s a huge turn-off for me.

That Smart Asian Kid


So this trope bugs me A LOT. I’ve come across it in a lot of TV shows, even kids’ shows, and still don’t understand. Heck, I’m Asian, and I don’t spend my waking hours studying super hard and reciting facts or coding or whatever. I know that Asian parents are generally more driven, but for once, can’t we have a smart, yet athletic Asian, instead of a skinny kid who gets picked on for being hyper intelligent? I do have a list of books with POC characters I want to get to, and I’m hoping to be proved wrong by them.

Well, that brings me to the end of my rant! Hopefully you were able to make it this far! Any tropes that bother you? If you have any good recommendations that don’t contain these, leave them below!

what do you think of my new sign-off? I completely forgot to include it till now :p

2 thoughts on “Book Tropes I Don’t Understand

Leave a comment